Rudra Saṁpradāya


Rudra Saṁpradāya

In Hinduism, the Rudra Saṁpradāya is one of 4 Vaiṣṇava Saṁpradāyas, a tradition of disciple succession in the religion.

Vaiṣṇavism is distinguished from other schools of Hinduism by its primary worship of deities Viṣṇu and/or Kṛṣṇa and their Avatārs as the Supreme forms of God.

The ascetic Viṣṇusvāmī formed the Rudra-Saṁpradāya,

though the Saṁpradāya is believed to have traced its origins to the Hindu deity Śiva, also known as Rudra, who passed on the knowledge imparted to him by Viṣṇu (or Kṛṣṇa), on mankind:


Vallabha Āchārya

According to Vaiṣṇavism, Śiva, who has the Śaivism School dedicated to his worship as the Supreme God, is the first and foremost Vaiṣṇava, or follower of Viṣṇu.

According to the tradition, Viṣṇusvāmī was 15th in the line of passing of the knowledge from teacher to student.

The date of formation of the Saṁpradāya is disputed. Not much about the historical Viṣṇusvāmī is known and all his works are thought to have been lost in time.

The Saṁpradāya originated in Śrī Kṣettra (Odisha) but currently is mainly present in Gujarat/Rajasthan, through the Vallabha Saṁpradāya:

The beliefs of the Saṁpradāya were further propagated by Vallabha Āchārya (1479–1531).

Rudra Saṁpradāya has 2 main divisions:

a) Viṣṇusvāmīs, that is, followers of Viṣṇusvāmī and

b) the Vallabhas or Puṣṭimārga tradition, founded by Vallabha.

The Viṣṇusvāmī’s tradition is believed to be disappeared now, except for the Puṣṭimārga group.

The philosophy of the Saṁpradāya is Śuddhādvaita, or Pure Monism.