Traditions | Paramparās of Hinduism

Lingayatism | Basavanna

1. Liṅgāyatism Liṅgāyatism is a Śaivite Hindu religious tradition in India. Initially known as Vīraśaivas , since the 18 th century adherents of this faith are known as Liṅgāyats . The terms Liṅgāyatism and Vīraśaivism have been used synonymously, but Vīraśaivism may refer to the broader Vīraśaiva philosophy which predates Liṅgāyatism, to the historical community now called Liṅgāyats , and to a contemporary (sub) tradition

BAPS in Svāmīnārāyaṇa Saṁpradāya

1. Bocāsanvāsī Akṣara Puruṣottama Svāmīnārāyan Sansthā Bocāsanvāsī Akṣara Puruṣottama Sansthā ( BAPS ), is a Hindu denomination within the Svāmīnārāyaṇa Saṁpradāya . It was formed, by Yajñapuruṣdās ( Śāstriji Mahārāj ), on the principle that Svāmīnārāyan was to remain present on earth through a lineage of Gurus dating all the way back to Guṇatitānand Svāmī – one of Svāmīnārāyaṇa ’s most prominent disciples. */ Index

Svāmīnārāyaṇa Saṁpradāya | Swaminarayan Sampradaya

Svāmīnārāyaṇa Saṁpradāya, also known as the Svāmīnārāyaṇa faith or the Svāmīnārāyaṇa tradition, started in the state of Gujarat, in which followers offer devotion to and worship Svāmīnārāyaṇa. The Svāmīnārāyaṇa Saṁpradāya is devotion-focussed and advocates God within the disciplines of virtues: Svāmīnārāyaṇa propagated a philosophy called Viśiṣṭādvaita, which says that God is Supreme, has a divine form, is the all-doer and is completely independent.

Rāmānandī Saṁpradāya

The Rāmānandī Saṁpradāya is one of the largest and most egalitarian Hindu sects India, around the Ganges Plain, and Nepal today: It mainly emphasizes the worship of Rāma, as well as Viṣṇu directly and other incarnations. The Rāmānandī, also known as the Rāmāyats or the Rāmāvats, are a branch of the Śrī Vaiśṇavism Saṁpradāya of Hinduism. Rāmānandī ascetics rely upon meditation and strict ascetic practices.

Śrī Vaiṣṇavism | Sri Vaishnavism

1. Śrī Vaiṣṇavism Śrī Vaiṣṇava Saṁpradāya or Śrī Vaiṣṇavism is a denomination within the Vaiṣṇavism tradition of Hinduism: The name is derived from Śrī referring to goddess Lakṣmī as well as a prefix that means " sacred , revered ", and god Viṣṇu who are together revered in this tradition. The tradition traces its roots to the ancient Vedas and Pañcarātra texts and popularized by

Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇavism | Gaudiya Vaishnavism

1. Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇavism Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇavism (also known as Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇava tradition, Bengali Vaiṣṇavism, or Chaitanya Vaiṣṇavism) is a religious movement in Vaiṣṇava Hinduism, inspired by Śrī Kṛṣṇa Caitanya Mahāprabhu (1486–1534) in India. " Gauḍīya " refers to the Gauḍa region (present day Bengal/Bangladesh) with Vaiṣṇavism meaning " the worship of Viṣṇu ". Its theological basis is primarily that of the Bhagavad Gītā and Bhāgavata Purāṇa

Nimbārka Saṁpradāya | Nimbarka

1. Nimbārka Saṁpradāya The Nimbārka Saṁpradāya (Sanskrit निम्बार्क सम्प्रदाय), also known as the Haṁsa Saṁpradāya , Kumāra Saṁpradāya , Catuḥ Sana Saṁpradāya and Sanakādi Saṁpradāya , is one of the 4 Vaiṣṇava Saṁpradāyas . It was founded by Nimbārka (c.7 th century CE), and teaches the Vaiṣṇava theology of Dvaitādvaita ( dvaita-advaita ) or " dualistic non-dualism ." Dvaitādvaita states that humans are both different

Rudra Saṁpradāya

Rudra Saṁpradāya In Hinduism, the Rudra Saṁpradāya is one of 4 Vaiṣṇava Saṁpradāyas, a tradition of disciple succession in the religion. Vaiṣṇavism is distinguished from other schools of Hinduism by its primary worship of deities Viṣṇu and/or Kṛṣṇa and their Av atārs as the Supreme forms of God . The ascetic Viṣṇusvāmī formed the Rudra-Saṁpradāya , though the Saṁpradāya is believed to have traced its

Puṣṭimārga Saṁpradāya | Pushtimarg

1. Puṣṭimārga Puṣṭimārga (lit. " the Path of Nourishing, Flourishing "), also known as Puṣṭimārga Saṁpradāya or Vallabha Saṁpradāya , is a sub-tradition of Vai ṣṇavism (Hinduism). It was founded in early 16 th -century by Vallabhācharya (1479–1531) and is focussed on Kṛṣṇa . A bhakti (devotional) school, Puṣṭi Mārga was expanded by the descendants of Vallabhācharya, particularly Gosain-ji : Its values are derived from

Śaiva Siddhāṅta | Shaiva Sddhanta

The Śaiva Siddhāṅta Philosophy 1. Introduction In the books that treat of Śaivism , there is a reference to four schools, viz., the Nākulisa Pāśupata, the Śaiva, the Pratyabhijñā and the Rāseśvara. Śaiva Siddhāṅta is the philosophy of Southern Śaivism . It owes its origins to no single author. It is midway between Śankara’s Advaita and Rāmānuja’s Viśishṭādvaita. Its literature consists chiefly of 1. The