Devas | Deities in Hinduism

Citragupta (heavenly scribe)

Citragupta ('rich in secrets') is a Hindu deva assigned with the task of keeping complete records of the actions of human beings and punishing or rewarding them according to their karma. Upon their death, Citragupta has the task of deciding Heaven or Hell for humans, depending on their actions on the earth. Citragupta is traditionally portrayed holding Pen, Ink, dagger. There are temples of Citragupta.

Nārāyaṇa | Narayana

1. Nārāyaṇa Nārāyaṇa (Sanskrit: नारायण) is known as one who is in yogic sleep on the celestial waters, referring to Lord Mahā Viṣṇu. He is also known as the " Puruṣa " and is considered Supreme Being in Vaiṣṇavism. According to the Bhagavad Gītā , he is also the " Guru of the Universe ". The Bhāgavata Purāṇa declares Nārāyaṇa as the Supreme Personality Godhead

Lakṣmī | Lakshmi with elephants

1. Lakṣmī Lakṣmī (Sanskrit: लक्ष्मी) is the Goddess who leads to one's goal ( Lakṣya in Sanskrit), hence Her name is Lakṣmī . For mankind, 8 types of Goals are necessary – 1. Spiritual Enlightenment, 2. food, 3. knowledge, 4. resources, 5. progeny, 6. abundance, 7. patience and 8. success, hence there are 8 or Aṣṭa Lakṣmīs – 1. Ādi Lakṣmī, 2. Dhānya Lakṣmī, 3.


1. Varuṇa Varuṇa (Sanskrit: वरुण) is a Vedic deity associated initially with the sky, later also with the seas as well as Ṛta (justice) and Satya (truth). He is found in the oldest layer of Vedic literature of Hinduism, such as hymn 7.86 of the Ṛg Veda . He is also mentioned in the Tamil grammar work Tolkāppiyam , as the god of sea and

Sarasvatī | Saraswati

1. Sarasvatī Sarasvatī (Sanskrit: सरस्वती) is the Hindu goddess of knowledge, music, art, wisdom, and learning. She is a part of the trinity (Tridevī) of Sarasvatī , Lak ṣmī , and Pārvatī . All the 3 forms help the trinity of Brahma , Vi ṣṇu , and Śiva to create, maintain, and regenerate the Universe, respectively. The earliest known mention of Sarasvatī as a goddess

Rāma | Rāmacandra

Rāma Rāma (Sanskrit: राम), also known as Rāmacandra , is a major deity of Hinduism. He is the 7 th Avatār of the god Viṣṇu , one of his most popular incarnations along with Kṛṣṇa . In Rāma -centric traditions of Hinduism, he is considered the Supreme Being. Rāma was born to Kauśalyā and Daśaratha in Ayodhyā , the ruler of the Kingdom of Kośala

Kṛṣṇa | Krishna with flute

1. Kṛṣṇa | Krishna Kṛṣṇa (Sanskrit: कृष्ण) is a major deity in Hinduism: He is worshipped as the 8 th avatar of the God Viṣṇu and also as the Supreme God in his own right. He is the god of compassion, tenderness, and love in Hinduism, and is one of the most popular and widely revered among Indian divinities. Kṛṣṇa 's birthday is celebrated every

Ishvara definition | Personal Isha

Īśvara (Sanskrit: ईश्वर) is a concept in Hinduism, with wide range of meanings that depend on the era and the school of Hinduism. In ancient texts of Indian philosophy, depending on the context, Īśvara can mean Supreme Soul, ruler, lord, king, queen or husband. In medieval era Hindu texts, depending on the school of Hinduism, Īśvara means God, Supreme Being, personal god, or special Self.

Shiva Mahadeva definition

Śiva (Sanskrit: शिव lit. the auspicious one) also known as Mahādeva (lit. the great god) is one of the principal deities of Hinduism. He is the Supreme Being within Śaivism, one of the major traditions within contemporary Hinduism. In Śaivism tradition, Śiva is one of the supreme beings who creates, protects and transforms the universe. Śiva is also known as Ādiyogi Śiva, God of yoga

Vishnu Deva definition

Viṣṇu (Sanskrit: विष्णु) is one of the principal deities of Hinduism: The "preserver" in the Hindu triad (Trimūrti), Viṣṇu is revered as the Supreme Being in Vaiṣṇavism as identical to the metaphysical concept of Brahman (Ātman, the self, or unchanging ultimate reality), and is notable for adopting various incarnations (Avatārs such as Rāma and Kṛṣṇa) to preserve and protect dharmic principles from destructive forces.